Traditional ????

Created for the History of Archery. A place for collectors, enthusiast, onlookers, and answers.
Curve1
5X5 Bull
Traditional ????

Post by Curve1 » Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:10 pm

This post is not meant to be an argumentive thread...just some historical findings.
I've been shooting recurves and a few longbows since 1974, of course there's a lot of folks been involved in archery for a lot longer than I. Just some interesting comments I've heard in recent years among trad-shooters.... like, that metal riser bow aint traditional, ect..
I remember shooting a few metal riser bows here and there back in the 70's and 80's. In 74 when me and my brothers and Dad got into archery most folks were using rests, and a lot of them were using sights. We used aluminum and wood arrows, I think I seen a few Micro-flight arrows around also.
But what I didn't know until recently ....thanks to some folks that have been involved in archery longer than I, is that metal riser bows have been around since the 50's. Aluminum arrows since the 40's [marketed], I believe they were being tried and tested in the 30's. The working limb recurve was not around [fiber-glass] until the late 40's . Dont be surprised if I may not be totally accurate, but, I believe my info is close.
Anyway, I've seen a lot of guys that have gotten into trad in the last 15 years or so that make statements that are inaccurate. When someone says..." that's not traditional ", well, how traditional are you talking about? Most of the bows we shoot now are fiberglass laminated, something they didn't have in the 20's and 30's. Like I said , this is just an observation and not anything meant to start an argument. I look at the American Indian....he improvised with the best and most practical thing that he had available.